• Post category:At Work

The Northeastern Pennsylvania Alliance held a Networking Reception on Thursday, October 6, 2022, at the Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel, 700 Lackawanna Ave, Scranton, PA. The Reception was attended by over 300 business and community leaders from around the region.

During the Reception, NEPA presented the NEPA Alliance Regional Leadership Award. The award is presented to an agency, group or individual demonstrating a significant contribution to regional growth, development or cooperation within the seven county NEPA region. This year’s award recipient was the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton International Airport (AVP) for their contribution to the regional economy and involvement in the regional community of Northeastern Pennsylvania.

Carl Beardsley, Executive Director, AVP, stated, “So much of what we do at AVP is a partnership with Jeffrey Box and the staff at NEPA Alliance.  Our strategies align so well with the mission and goals of NEPA Alliance. We are proud to receive this recognition from Jeffrey Box and the NEPA Alliance team.  I know I can speak on behalf of the airport board and employees when I say thank you.”

Beardsley noted that several airport team members were in attendance including Board Members, Lackawanna County Commissioners Jerry Notarianni and Chris Chermak, and Lee Ann McDermott, Luzerne County Council.

Beardsley stated, “AVP has plenty of good news on the horizon and our relationship with NEPA Alliance will help to make it happen.” He noted that It is an honor for AVP to receive this recognition and considers NEPA Alliance a strong partner, especially in the business development world.

“Wilkes-Barre/Scranton International Airport has a tremendous impact on economic development in Northeastern Pennsylvania. They are a true partner in regional growth and development. Congratulations to Carl Beardsley and his team at Wilkes-Barre/Scranton International Airport,” said Jeffrey Box, President & CEO, NEPA Alliance.

From left: Donna Hritz, NEPA Alliance; Chris Chermak, Lackawanna County Commissioner; Carl Beardsley, AVP; Lee Ann McDermott, Luzerne County Council;  Mary Beth Wood, WEDCO and NEPA Alliance Board Chairperson; and Jeffrey Box, NEPA Alliance.