Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP)

LTAP-LogoThe Northeastern Pennsylvania Alliance (NEPA) has partnered with PennDOT to offer the Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) training series in all seven NEPA counties: Carbon, Lackawanna, Luzerne, Monroe, Pike, Schuylkill and Wayne Counties.

About the LTAP Program

The PennDOT Local Technical Assistance Program has been serving Pennsylvania’s municipalities with transportation road maintenance and safety training since 1983. Services available through LTAP include workshop training, on-site technical assistance, updates on the latest technologies and innovations, field demonstrations, library and information materials, and newsletters. These services are available to all municipalities in the state and are provided at no cost to the users.

Roads Scholar Program:

Offered by the Pennsylvania Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP), the Roads Scholar Program provides an opportunity for municipal employees to be trained by LTAP’s professional team in the latest road-related technologies and innovations. The program provides a professional certification to municipal employees and officials who attend 10 (ten) LTAP workshops within a three-year period.

Current courses:

Curves on Local Roads: Issues and Safety Tools
Thursday, October 5, 2017
8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Pike County Training Center
135 Pike County Blvd.
Lords Valley, PA 18428
(570) 296-1960

Salt and Snow Management
Friday, November 3, 2017
8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Butler Township Community Center
411 West Butler Drive
Drums, PA 18222

Salt and Snow Management
Thursday, November 9, 2017
8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Wayne Township Municipal Building
10 Municipal Road
Schuylkill Haven, PA 17972

Traffic Calming
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Lackawanna Co. Center for Public Safety
30 Valley View Business Park
Jessup, PA 18434
(570) 961-6700

Engineering and Traffic Studies
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Middle Smithfield Township Building
147 Municipal Drive
East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
(570) 223-8920

To register, visit http://www.ltap.state.pa.us/ and log on using your username and password. First time users must set up an account by clicking on “Create Account.” For technical assistance when registering, call: 1-800-FOR-LTAP (1-800-367-5827) or contact Kate McMahon, Transportation Services Manager, NEPA Alliance at 570-655-5581.

Staff Contacts

Alan Baranski – Vice President, Transportation Planning Services Division
Kate McMahon – Transportation Services Manager
Annette Ginocchetti – Transportation GIS Specialist
Daniel Yelito – Transportation Services Manager

Connect with us through